31
Jan
09

The last few months

I am making an effort to blog more.  I think people can learn about how God is working in me through reading this blog.  My prayer is that people may learn about God and His character through my life and circumstances.  That being said, I know there was a large gap in my blogging that I need to cover to catch up the 5 people who read my blog.

So before the quick blog last week, I blogged in November… to keep this blog from being to long to read, I will hit the highlights.

November was filled with Thanksgiving and college football – GO GA TECH.  I also celebrated my 3 year anniversary with my best friend and love of my life Trisha.   We were still praying about job opportunities in Savannah.  God was teaching me patience.  His timing is best.

December was crazy, very very crazy!! 1st of all it was Christmas (thanks capt. obvious.)  It was a fun time celebrating with our family.  Trey enjoyed the Christmas tree lights and any thing that moved and sang.  My inlaws, with whom we were living, sold their house.  (long time answered prayer.)  My boss told me I could work 3 12 hour shifts allowing me to go ahead and move to Savannah!! (long time answered prayer.)  We found the perfect house to rent in the heart of midtown!!! We were sad it was available but happy to take it.  😉   God showed us He provides in His timing.   We packed up and awaited the first week of the year to move.

January has been a rollercoster ride.  We moved into our new house and started to settle in.  I was off the first 12 days of the year.  It was great.  While we were moving in, my boss called with some news about my new schedule.  She said it wasn’t happening.  I was angry, but I some how had a peace about it.  Not long after that, I celebrated my 27th birthday.  It was cool.  Trisha and Trey met me for lunch. I love when that happens.  I began the hardest thing I have had to do in my life the following week.  I started spending 5 days a week in Atlanta while my family spends it in Savannah.  I drive home to meet them on the weekends.  It is rough.  God and I have had several conversations about it.  (we have had plenty of time with 2- 4 hour car rides a week.)  What it comes down to is this.  1. God knows what is going on.  The phone call from my boss did not suprise Him.  2. God is in control.  His way of doing things is much better than mine.  3. Any amount of hardship is nothing compared to the suffering Christ endured for me.  Who am I to think I deserve any thing more than Christ received.   When I compare myself to anyone it is easy to say I deserve this or that.  When I compare myself to Christ, it is easy to say I am worthless and meaningless and unworthy of everything.  The truth is, apart from Christ, I have no worth and the only thing I deserve is death.  God is loving.  He will have me in Savannah when it is His timing.

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD. 9. “For {as} the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways And My thoughts than your thoughts.”

Isaiah 55: 8-9

Canvas launched last week.  2 people who did not know Christ when they woke last Sunday, knew Him when they left Canvas.  What an awesome start.  Worth everything Trisha and I have been through to get here (or almost here as it may be).  The best part is – THAT WAS WEEK ONE!!!! WE GOT A LOT MORE COMING!!  I count it an awesome privalidge to serve an amazing God who desires to be in a relationship with a worthless being like myself.   I am still praying that God would open a door for me to work in Savannah, but I know my God is faithful and will get me a job when He says it is the right time.  Praise to God who cares enough to let me ask things in prayer.


2 Responses to “The last few months”


  1. 1 Beth
    January 31, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    Hey Mark, It’s Beth (Perkins) from FBCPS. I am SO excited for your family and it kind of neet because we are in the same boat… kind of. We moved to Myrtle Beach from California in November and are part of a church plant, Wellspring Church. It’s been hard… trying to find jobs, raising support, but like you said God knows our situation and HE has a plan. Just wanted to say I will be praying for yall. I totally understand what yall are going through and it’s not easy, but lives changed makes it worth it! God bless, Beth


Leave a comment


Top Clicks

  • None