10
Feb
10

God’s Mercy

Luk 13:6 And he told this parable: “A man had a fig tree planted in his vineyard, and he came seeking fruit on it and found none.
Luk 13:7 “And he said to the vinedresser, ‘Look, for three years now I have come seeking fruit on this fig tree, and I find none. Cut it down. Why should it use up the ground?’
Luk 13:8 “And he answered him, ‘Sir, let it alone this year also, until I dig around it and put on manure.
Luk 13:9 “‘Then if it should bear fruit next year, well and good; but if not, you can cut it down.’”

I love this passage. We see many aspects of God here.  One thing I see is that God expects fruit out of His vines. He comes seeking it.  He also is just in that if He finds no fruit, He asks why we “use up the ground.” Basically, you are a waste of air! But the next part is what God has been teaching me the most. We serve a merciful God. Why should He give us more time when we already had plenty?

I heard a pastor reference this verse while I was working my day job cutting grass.  I have learned a great deal about growing things in the last year.  My brain locked onto this part about fertilizer. I began thinking about all the different types of fertilizers we use.  Some of it is slow release, some fast, some will burn up grass, some will be more mild…etc. (don’t want to go HGTV on you) So as I am thinking about that and about to draw some huge spiritual parallel with my fertilizer knowledge, God gently speaks to me and says, “Mark, this is around 0 AD. Don’t think they had Scott’s Weed and Feed. What did they use?” Then it hit me. They used… manure. Cow patties as it may be. That puts this in a unique perspective. To be blunt, as I often am, some times God will put crap on us to make us grow and produce fruit.  Sometimes our trials are not God’s wrath. They are in fact His mercy. How merciful God is.  He has given us salvation when we deserved death! He has allowed us to labor for Him in His name! He has not returned yet, showing vast mercy to the world! He allows us to know Him. Think about the mercy God has showed us. Then think about the mercy you show others. It might hurt if you are honest with yourself. Our mercy should be a reflection of Him.  It will be perceived as one either way.

Keep allowing God to “dump” His mercy on you! Until the king returns…


1 Response to “God’s Mercy”


  1. 1 Cecilchan
    September 11, 2012 at 2:21 am

    thanks a lot for writing this 🙂


Leave a comment


Top Clicks

  • None